Royal Humane Society. Recognising Bravery.

Royal Humane Society

Instituted 1774 and Incorporated by Royal Charter in 1959

Patron:  Her Majesty the Queen

President:  HRH Princess Alexandra, the Hon Lady Ogilvy KG GCVO

Registered Charity Number 231469

50/51 Temple Chambers
3/7 Temple Avenue
London EC4Y 0HP
Telephone : 020 7936 2942
Click Here to send us an e-mail

About the Royal Humane Society

The Royal Humane Society is a charity that grants awards for acts of bravery in the saving of human life and, also, for the restoration of life by resuscitation.  Our awards range from bronze, silver and gold medals to Testimonials on Vellum and Parchment, Certificates of Commendation and Resuscitation Certificates.

Officers of the Society


Her Majesty the Queen


Her Royal Highness Princess Alexandra, the Hon Lady Ogilvy KG GCVO

Vice Presidents

The Rt. Hon the Lord Mayor of the City of London
Mr Peter Bedford
Mr Julian Spicer OBE

Mr Richard Titley


The committee as at October 2014

Chairman and Honorary Treasurer

Mr John Grandy

Deputy Chairman
Lieutenant Colonel Gordon Birdwood

Committee Members
Mrs Anna Blaxland
Mr Richard Corfield
Colonel Giles Crisp
Mrs Diana Duke LVO DL
Mr Mark Dumas
Mr George Hawkins
Dr Michael McCaldin
Mr Rupert Novis (Stanhope Gold 1988)
Mrs Rowena Osborne
Mrs Lynda Rose MBE
Sir Nigel Southward KCVO
Mr Charles Spicer
Mr George Staple CB QC
Commodore Philip Thicknesse RN
Mr Rupert Uloth
Mr Tom Walduck
Police adviser to the Committee

Mr Francis Habgood  Deputy Chief Constable Thames Valley Police
(Represented by Inspector Rob Gurney of Hertfordshire Constabulary)


Dick Wilkinson TD

Awards Coordinator

Mr John Wilson

Honorary Adviser

Dr Roger Willoughby PhD

 Welcome   About the Society   History of the Society   Awards of The Society   Support Us   News & Events   Buckingham Palace 2009   Awards & Annual Report